Skip to content

Single School Culture

Single School Culture is a way of organizing and running a school. It begins with shared norms, beliefs, values, and goals and results in agreed upon processes and procedures that produce consistency in practice. It is not a program but a framework or process for effectively building a positive school climate rooted in shared vision, mission, and goals developed by Dr. Alison Adler.

A Single School Culture results in consistency of both adult and student practices related to academics, behavior, school climate and data.

Single School Culture Workshops

Dr. Alison Adler conducted multiple Single School Culture trainings across the state. Presentations and handouts from these trainings are available for download below.

2013 Workshops


2015 Workshops

2015 Principal Panel Contact Information

  • Northern CA Principal Panels
  • Southern CA Principal Panels

Oakland Principal Panel

Xavier Rodriguez
Monterey High School
101 Herman Drive
Monterey, CA 93940
Phone: (831) 392-3801
Email: xrodriguez@mpusd.k12.ca.us

Robert Evans
De Anza High School
5000 Valley View Road
El Sobrante, CA 94803
Phone: (510) 231-1440
Email: Robert.Evans@wccusd.net

Kibby Kleiman
Pinole Valley High School
2900 Pinole Valley Road
Pinole, CA 94564
Phone: (510) 231-1442
Email: kkleiman@wccusd.net

Sacramento Principal Panel

Gloria Ervin
San Juan High School
7551 Greenback Lane
Citrus Heights, CA 95610
Phone: (916) 971-5112
Email: gloria.ervin@sanjuan.edu

Marla Johnson
Arthur A. Benjamin Health Professions
451 McClatchy Way
Sacramento, CA 95818
Phone: (916) 264-3262
Email: Marla-Johnson@scusd.edu

Shelley Friery
El Camino Fundamental High School
4300 El Camino Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95821
Phone: (916) 971-7430
Email: shelley.friery@sanjuan.edu

Los Alamitos Principal Panel

Oscar Hernandez
Hueneme High School
500 W Bard Road
Oxnard, CA 93033
Phone: (805) 385-2667
Email: Oscar.Hernandez@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Stacey Wilkins
Garey High School
321 W Lexington Avenue
Pomona, CA 91766
Phone: (909) 397-4451
Email: Stacey.Wilkins@pomona.k12.ca.us

San Bernadino Principal Panel

Tina Petersen
Bloomington High
10750 Laurel Avenue
Bloomington, CA 92316
Phone: (909) 580-5004
Email: tina_petersen@cjusd.net

San Diego Principal Panel

Laura Whitaker
El Capitan High School
10410 Ashwood Street
Lakeside, CA 92040
Phone: (619) 938-9100
lwhitaker@guhsd.net

Steve Coover
Mt. Miguel High School
8585 Blossom Lane
Spring Valley, CA 91977
Phone: (619) 667-6412
scoover@guhsd.net